Manufacturers' Statements

Many manufacturers now have a labeling policy that they will always label gluten (as wheat, barley, rye, oats) on their ingredient labels. This gives the consumer the ability to determine if a product is gluten-free by simply reading the ingredient label.

The following are statements from companies that do have accurate gluten-labeling policies. Some of these companies are HUGE, having many, many brands.

Note: The following information does not address the cross-contamination issues of dedicated facilities or lines.

Ben & Jerry's 11/12 Their policy is stated on their website at http://benjerry.custhelp.com/app/answers/
Breyers Ice Cream 11/12

If you type in "Gluten Information" in the Breyers "Ask" window under "Contact Us" it states: We recommend consumers read the label each time before buying our product. If gluten is present, it is clearly listed in plain language on the ingredient label (i.e., wheat flour, rye, barley, oats, and malt). Malt is a barley based ingredient.

Since product formulations change from time to time, we do not publish a list of gluten-free flavors.

Heinz
(Includes Classico Pasta Sauces, Delimex, Boston Market)
11/12 They state on their website: " For people who follow a gluten-free diet, Heinz is making it easier to make the right choices. We clearly label all ingredients in our products, and plans are underway to designate all our Gluten-Free products as such, for your information and for your peace of mind ..."
Hidden Valley Ranch 11/12

They now are labeling their products "Gluten Free" when appropriate. They also provide a list of their gluten-free products on their website. http://www.hiddenvalley.com/faq/

Kraft
(Includes A-1, Breakstone, Cadbury, Capri Sun, Cheez Whiz, Digiorno, Kool-Aid, Jell-O, Knudsen, Kraft, Miracle Whip, Oscar Mayer, Philadelphia, Planters, Polly-O, Tang, Toberone, Velveeta & more)

To see all their brands, click here.

11/12

On their website they state: "Our policy for all Kraft Foods products, . . . is to list gluten-containg ingredients in the ingredient statement on the package label. . . . If a Kraft Foods product has an ingredient that is a source of gluten, the specific grain will be listed in the ingredient statement, even when present in small amounts."

Their complete statement and guidelines for reading ingredient labels may be found on a page titled "Choosing Gluten-Free Foods".

 

Unilever

Bertolli, Country Crock, Hellmans, Knorr, Lipton, Slim-fast, Wishbone, & more

11/12

"Wheat/Gluten is considered a common allergen. For this reason, it will always be included on the ingredients list for any Unilever Canada product." See Knorr FAQ section to see this statement.

 

 


Copyright © 2009
Web site Maintenance by Roxie Johnson | Online Marketing by the seo firm IncredibleMarketing.com